Wrap-Up: Top 10 Least Favorite Books of 2018

Wrap Up - Top 10 Least Favorites

Hello bookworms!
I recently posted my favorite books of 2018 and I now I am ready to post my top 10 least favorite books of 2018. I know some people get upset seeing these lists because they fear their favorite book will be on it, but I love seeing the reasons why people might not have enjoyed a favorite book of mine. So please do not take any offense to any books on this list, I do not mean for it to hurt your feelings. I just didn’t enjoy these books and if you did, that’s great!

If you want to read any of the reviews on these books, just click on the title of the book and the link will take you to that review.

Winter Street1

10. Winter Street by Elin Hilderbrand
A recent read that I wanted to read for the holiday season but sadly, I hated this. It’s a family drama and the drama is just so overwhelming. The characters fell flat for me and I couldn’t find myself liking any of them.

8C608813-D441-462A-866C-BF1E20412A68

9. Ballardvale Blues by Rachel Veznaian
Another book where the characters were not likable and the plot of story just went nowhere for me.

Just So Stories2

8. Just So Stories by Rudyard Kipling
After reading two books from Kipling and not enjoying either of them, I’ve come to terms that he is not an author I enjoy reading. His writing was not enjoyable and the stories were odd.

Girls Like Me1

7. Girls Like Me by Lola St. Vil
This was a fiction novel but it was written in verse. This was the first time I read something like that and while I thought it was cool, I just didn’t enjoy. The story and the main character also weren’t that great. It was cute but not memorable or enjoyable.

Peter Pan1

6. Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie
I LOVE the Disney adaptation of Peter Pan. It’s magical and whimsical but this book is anything but! It’s weird and I didn’t like any of the characters. That seems to be a common theme with these books on this list.

Mayfly1

5. Mayfly by Jeff Sweat
A dystopian that had a lot of info dumping and VERY unlikable characters. The premise of the story sounded interesting but the execution did not deliver.

Wink Poppy Midnight1

4. Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke
I will say the writing in this book was great! But the characters were so bland and the story was just weird.

The Jungle Book1

3. The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling
Like I stated before with Just So Stories, Kipling is just not the author for me. I never knew that The Jungle Book was a collection of short stories and sadly I didn’t really enjoy any of them.

Immortal Girl5-1

2. Immortal Girl5 by Griffin Stark
Another recent read that is a fantasy but it’s only 165 pages! We didn’t get to know any of the characters and the plot was rather boring.

The Hazel Wood1

1. The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert
My most hated book of the year! I honestly can’t even explain what this book is about because as soon as I finished it, I wanted to put it out of my mind. I somehow ended up with two copies of this book, most likely from book subscription boxes, and I desperately need to get rid of them.

So those are my top 10 least favorite books of 2018. What were some of your least favorites? Thanks for reading!!RachaelInstagramPinteresttumblrTwitter


3 thoughts on “Wrap-Up: Top 10 Least Favorite Books of 2018

  1. The Hazel Wood was such a marmite book for everyone! I loved it, but I think for all the reasons other people hated it… It definitely inspired strong opinions! Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I also ended up with 2 copies of The Hazel Wood (both from sub boxes), and it was a huge disappointment. I think it started off great – kind of creepy in a good way, but then it ended as a nothing book. It wrapped up way too neatly and so quickly. All this pretext for nothing. And it’s supposed to have a sequel?! I just don’t know how they can add to the story further.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.